22 posts tagged with reviews.
Displaying 1 through 22 of 22. Subscribe:

Capsule Reviews of Classic Speculative Fiction Stories

For years and years, I’ve been collecting editions of the Annual World’s Best SF anthology series, which ran from 1972 to 1990. A couple of years ago I decided to commit to reading or rereading every single one of them, and to reviewing every single story in each of them on Goodreads. As of April 2017, I’ve gotten through 10 of them and reviewed a total of 107 stories. [more inside]
posted by showbiz_liz on Apr 25, 2017 - 3 comments

Lewton Bus

A film criticism and review site I recently launched with a number of my film nerd buddies. [more inside]
posted by brundlefly on Nov 28, 2016 - 0 comments

Fake app review detector

I've spent the past 18 months or so slogging away at apprecs.com, an app search engine that can detect review manipulation. You can see the worst offenders here. I posted this back when this was iOS-only, and I'd like to share some major new features I've added. [more inside]
posted by hodgebodge on Oct 20, 2016 - 2 comments

GUTTERFAGS: Quarterly reviews of sequential art about dude-on-dude lust and love

The new issue of GUTTERFAGS is up at http://www.gutterfags.com/ ! This issue features: – The Less Than Epic Adventures of TJ and Amal by E.K. Weaver, reviewed by Meredith Nudo – Wuvable Oaf by Ed Luce, reviewed by Michael Martinez – Roy & Al by Ralf König, reviewed by Kyle J. Campbell – Webz by KaputOtter, reviewed by Daniel Milco – Husbands: The Comic by Brad Bell, Jane Espenson et al, reviewed by Larry Duplechan ---- With cover art by Knut Graabein --- Edited by Aldo Alvarez, Ph.D & Dale Lazarov
posted by DaleLazarov on Jul 7, 2016 - 4 comments

App search engine that filters out fake reviews

While developing mobile apps, I realized how rife the App Store is with rating/review manipulation. So, I created apprecs.com, a facade for the store that allows you to filter out many of the fake, coerced, or otherwise manipulated reviews. You can also filter by other criteria such as how recently the app was last updated and age/gender of the typical user. What do you think? I'm getting started on adding Android (Google Play) support today. [more inside]
posted by hodgebodge on Apr 19, 2016 - 9 comments

You Better Watch Out

"You better watch out. Better not cry, sucker. Because this month we’re taking a look at seven examples of cinematic revenge — the bloodier, the better." A series of revenge movie reviews to help you celebrate the Holidays. [more inside]
posted by brundlefly on Dec 24, 2015 - 0 comments

Judgemental Reviews Of Common Pasta Shapes

An illustrated review of the most common pasta shapes.
posted by The Whelk on Oct 8, 2015 - 2 comments

The Cat Vs Kirk

A man watches a movie. A cat takes a nap. Who used their time more wisely? [more inside]
posted by Kiablokirk on May 6, 2015 - 0 comments

Massive Head Canon

Intelligent discussion of movies, books, games, and technology. [more inside]
posted by Bora Horza Gobuchul on Mar 22, 2015 - 0 comments

Intelligent Gamer

I started a new website which focuses on news for the Intelligent Gamer. It's a multi platform gaming news and reviews site that I describe as the Anti-Kotaku. [more inside]
posted by Effigy2000 on Mar 26, 2014 - 5 comments

Spoilers, Beware!

Inspired by the Amazon/Goodreads deal (and advised by AskMe) I have decided to launch my own review site for books and any other media I feel like writing about. [more inside]
posted by restless_nomad on Apr 1, 2013 - 3 comments

Offbeat Eats, v3

You last read about Offbeat Eats, my food blog, back in early 2011. On that site, I track the interesting places I've eaten, mostly so that other travelers can find some of the more obscure places I've enjoyed. Since then, the blog has continued to grow (it's over doubled in size), and with it more than a few growing pains on the backend as various things didn't scale well. Since I've been stuck at home waiting for a kidney stone issue to resolve, this was finally a time to resolve it. Mostly based upon feedback from my earlier post, I've migrated it to the newest Google Maps API (faster), implemented map autozooming (cooler), and implemented marker clustering to reduce clutter on most of the maps (which were starting to look like the dartboard at an old bar with too many pins on them). I'm looking for more feedback and ideas.
posted by kaszeta on Mar 21, 2013 - 0 comments

Sausage Pranks

A food blog for fake-meat lovers and daring vegetarians. Filling the meat alternative niche, Sausage Pranks features super-easy, accessible vegetarian and vegan faux-meat dishes. Bittman and Isla Chandra Moskowitz are inspirations, and the blog will soon include product and restaurant reviews, asian- and spice-market field trips, and other fun outings.
posted by lunalaguna on Dec 30, 2012 - 1 comment

Quick Rotten

Rotten Tomatoes scores can be very helpful when trying to figure out what movie to watch, but I find their website to be incredibly slow and frustrating to navigate. Since Rotten Tomatoes has an API, I decided to make Quick Rotten as a way to quickly look up Rotten Tomatoes scores and get a sense of what critics think of new releases. My friend John Holdun then chipped in to make it look pretty.
posted by kcalder on Oct 18, 2012 - 5 comments

Tilting at Werewolves

Looking at Teen Paranormal Romance books, shows, and movies, and particularly at how they present ideas of gender performance and relationship models. (Here's the inaugural post, where I lay out what the plan basically is. Highlights so far include this particularly cogent defense of (at least some aspects of) Twilight, and this epic takedown of Hush, Hush.) And today, we've started a new, 144-week-long project: watching and discussing each and every episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. MeFi bonus: named via AskMe (thanks again, argonauta)!
posted by davidjmcgee on Sep 4, 2012 - 0 comments

Reviews and recommendations of classical music- from classic recordings to rare and obscure gems

I made EnjoyNewMusic.com to share my classical music findings from Spotify, Mog and Grooveshark (with links), as well as from my own CD collection. I'm particularly interested in unusual transcriptions and arrangements, jazz and rock re-workings of classical music, forgotten and obscure compositions, as well as essential classic recordings. My writing style is short, down-to-earth and pithy. The most recent entry is a comprehensive examination of noteworthy recordings of Bach's Chaconne, which I hope MeFites will particularly enjoy.
posted by BobsterLobster on Mar 4, 2012 - 0 comments

Farnam Street Blog

The Farnam Street Blog posts the best articles from around the internet on psychology, behavioral economics, human misjudgment, persuasion, and other subjects of intellectual interest. @farnamstreet [more inside]
posted by sf9719 on Sep 8, 2011 - 4 comments

Reading 33 1/3

I'm reading Continuum's 33 1/3 series, each one of which sees a different writer take on a notable album, and I'm writing a review to go with one volume each week. There's 80 currently released, and so far I've tackled Fleetwood Mac's Tusk by Rob Trucks, Richard and Linda Thompson's Shoot Out the Lights by Hayden Childs, and R.E.M.'s Murmur by J. Niimi.
posted by carbide on Jul 25, 2011 - 3 comments

MostlyFilm, a blog I'm involved with. As the title says, mostly film writing but some other reviews/essays/criticism as well.

So far, writing about: Alex Cox, "Meek's Cutoff", the upcoming "John Carter of Mars", country music in the movies, Herzog and Wenders 3D films, Christian Marclay’s "The Clock", recent CD releases. Oh and, calling Jamie Oliver a big gurning tit and the premise of his new show "colossally stupid and offensive".
posted by AmbroseChapel on Apr 17, 2011 - 1 comment

The Film Club Online

An international online magazine devoted to cinema and television - it currently contains a small number of reviews, but this will hopefully be extended to include director/actor profiles, genre profiles, and film and television book reviews.
posted by mleigh on Oct 19, 2010 - 1 comment

Bibliovermis - Book reviews in pictures

To try to make something useful out of my pretty useless best skill (reading really, really fast) and to practice drawing, I've started Bibliovermis.com, where I post book reviews in pictures. Highlights so far: illustrated about page, dragons in hats, the day I learned about perspective.
posted by audacity on Sep 25, 2010 - 9 comments

Neighborly Games: Facebook and Web Game News and Reviews

It seemed to me that I didn't have a place to go to find out what Facebook games didn't suck, and then when I looked around I couldn't find one. So I built a site to do just that. It's been up for a couple of weeks now, but I'm just getting to the point where I have enough content not to look entirely pathetic. I'd love to know what y'all think - review requests are welcome, too! [more inside]
posted by restless_nomad on May 20, 2010 - 4 comments

Page: 1