Bibliovermis - Book reviews in pictures
September 25, 2010 10:10 PM   Subscribe

Bibliovermis - Book reviews in pictures
To try to make something useful out of my pretty useless best skill (reading really, really fast) and to practice drawing, I've started Bibliovermis.com, where I post book reviews in pictures. Highlights so far: illustrated about page, dragons in hats, the day I learned about perspective.
posted by audacity (9 comments total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Oh, I forgot to mention: updates Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.
posted by audacity at 7:35 AM on September 26, 2010


I like all of the reviews so far! They're not books I'd usually read reviews of, so it's nice to see them in a fun readable format like this.
posted by dreamyshade at 4:17 PM on September 26, 2010


I enjoyed the mini-reviews. The fonts you've used in the illustrations are not the greatest, though. And the colours sometime makes it a bit harder to parse the illustrations. Examples: On my monitor light-haired love triangle guy sort of blended into the background. And the black-haired, black-clad girl in front of the black bird on a dark gray background was sort of a blur as well.

Otherwise, great concept! I'll be reading your blog from time to time in the future.
posted by Harald74 at 1:21 AM on September 27, 2010


Love the best thing/worst thing format and quite enjoy the illustrations. Definitely something I'll be checking out more often.
posted by kanata at 9:50 AM on September 27, 2010


Hmm, Harald74. The fonts I try to copy pretty closely from the books. As for the colors, I have a Mac and I know there's sometimes a problem with colors matching between operating systems. I'll look into it.
posted by audacity at 3:56 PM on September 28, 2010


I really like the format you're using! Fresh and different from most book review sites I've seen.
posted by misha at 4:46 PM on October 6, 2010


Oh, hey, can I link to your site with one of your illustrations? I wrote a blog post about it and would like to include one of your images.
posted by misha at 4:55 PM on October 6, 2010


misha: Whoops, sorry for not getting back to you! Only just saw this today. You can definitely do that as long as you're saying where it came from. Thanks!
posted by audacity at 7:59 PM on October 21, 2010


Awesome!
posted by elPepin at 4:21 PM on September 8, 2011


« Older Enelcine...   |   A multilingual natural languag... Newer »


You are not currently logged in. Log in or create a new account to post comments.